5 Short Tips To Create The Best Structure for Your AdWords Campaign
If you’re thinking about adding every single keyword you can think and dream of in your new campaigns, just don’t. It’s true that you can start testing and refining as you go along, but this does not mean you have to add a whole bunch of random keywords without a solid strategy or any indicator that it will work.
So you want to make sure to have a clear and clean structure and strategy from the start.
Google’s algorithms penalize poor campaign structure in terms of Quality Score and an indicator for poor campaign structure is definitely the performance of its keywords.
When you create an AdWords campaign for a new account, Google has no historical data to validate and will immediately let you know if what you did looks good by giving you decent quality Quality Scores for your keywords. Or if they think you don’t have a clue about what you are doing by giving you low quality scores for your keywords.
The good thing is that you can always gain their trust and improve your Quality Scores by improving your structure, keyword list, landing pages, ad copy etc.
1) Create Ad Groups with Tightly Themed Keywords
How can you accomplish this?
- Place a few (2-10) primary keywords into each ad group.
- Add more ad groups to accommodate new themed keywords, in other words, go wider, not deeper.
- Keep in mind that Broad Match is the default match type Google will use, so even though it could work for you, it’s always recommended to begin using Phrase and Exact Match for those keywords that are 3-worded, tops. Broad Match Modifier should on the other hand be used for those long-tail keywords, but this will depend on your industry, negative keyword management and goals.
2) Use Dynamic Keyword Insertion and Keyword Level Linking
Let’s say you have a thousand keywords in the same ad group. Best practices and editorial guidelines indicate in order to have the keyword become highlighted in your ad, you should add your keywords in your ad. This will also make the ad more relevant to the search query. However, because you have a thousand keywords in a single ad group, it’ll be impossible for your ad to be targeted for all the keywords at the same time.
When your ad can’t target your keywords, your Click-Through-Rate (CTR) will go down, and at the same time your Cost- Per-Click (CPC) will go up due to them being assigned a lower Quality Score.
Fortunately Ad Words has a solution for this dilemma by combining Dynamic Keyword Insertion (DKI) and Keyword Level Linking also known as Deep Linking. Just as keyword level bids overwrite bids at ad group level, keyword level URL’s overwrite the Ad’s URL.
You don’t need to send your potential customers to your home page. With this combination you can send them to a specific and most relevant landing page according to the product or service.
You can read more about the right usage of Dynamic Keyword Insertion in my other blog post.
3) Have Hundreds/Thousands of Relevant Keywords All in One Single Ad Group
Let’s say that you offer your roof repair in 50 cities. These 50 cities include zip codes, counties, local areas etc. that you should include as keyword variations.
Let me give you an for example. For the keyword “landscaping services”, you’ll have keyword variations with the city attached such as:
- landscaping services Orlando
- landscaping services tampa
- landscaping services 33601
So all of a sudden, when you mix your primary keywords with your cities you will find yourself with hundreds of variations.
By adding secondary keywords to your primary keyword list you can also easily increase the number of your keywords even more. For example:
- landscaping services quotes
- cheap landscaping services
- affordable landscaping services
Then, you will realize that, you also have another ad group with hundreds of keywords that are combined together.
As mentioned in point #2, this is where you need to use the the Dynamic keyword Insertion (DKI) feature to do the work for you without having to create hundreds of ads relevant to the keyword.
4) Create Ad Groups for Promising Keywords
As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, you should start testing and refining as you go along. What this means is that you’ll find keywords inside some ad groups that could use their own ad groups.
You can identify these keywords based on click volume, conversions, or both. In order to increase their relevancy and at the same time increase their Quality Score and lower their cost per click you should create a new ad group for them individually. This will enable you to write a much more specific ad and test it further to find the optimal ad copy.
For example, in a geographical ad group, the keyword “landscaping services miami” stands out from the rest of the cities, so you should paused this keyword in the geographical ad group and give it its own ad group.
5) Make Sure Your Daily Budget Covers Your Keyword List
Keep in mind that Google estimates a minimum daily budget based on your keyword list in order for your ad to appear. The daily budget is the amount you need in order to have a number of clicks based on how much traffic your keywords could get and their average cost per click.
If your campaign repeatedly reaches your daily budget, Google will display a recommended daily budget.
So let’s say you have a daily budget of $40 and your keywords’ average cost per click is $8, this would mean that you’re only eligible to get 5 potential clicks per day. You can therefore have several 100 keywords but if it’s only the expensive ones that are being triggered, then you might as well don’t work as hard because you don’t need that many keywords. In this case you may want to only focus on the keywords that have the lowest cost per clicks or you could also raise your daily budget.